Home page Insights
Discovering God

Discovering God

Illustration_1.jpgHow the Greek intelligentsia sought the path towards Orthodoxy in the twentieth century

Athanasios Zoitakis, candidate of historical sciences

The nineteenth century heralded the departure from Orthodoxy for a significant many Geeks. Enchanted by the brilliance of the culture of “civilized Europe”, Greek intellectuals opened their country to foreign influences. From the West there came materialism, theosophy, Marxism, rationalism, scepticism and nihilism. There appeared in Greek cities a fashion for all things foreign, and the word ‘cultural’ became a synonym’ for ‘technological’ and ‘Western’.

In the latter half of the nineteenth century Greek cities had lived through a profound spiritual crisis. On the one hand, there were the poor and on the other the well-to-do and wealthy who possessed a great many servants and could lead the way of life of aristocrats. Overseas customs and attire had become the fashion, as had conspicuous spending and a life of idleness. The upper layers of society treated the conservatism of the Orthodox faith with open contempt and mocked popular piety.

The hierarchy of the Greek Orthodox Church, which was under the control of the state, remained to all intents and purposes silent. The monasteries barely recovered after an anti-monastic campaign waged by the authorities. Parish priests were immersed in many material issues and could not find time to engage with their flock.

It was within these conditions that laymen and women came to the rescue of Orthodoxy. Many intellectuals discovered the path to God and brought their compatriots with them. Today we shall speak about three outstanding representatives of Greek art: a writer, an architect and a painter. In an environment of de-Christianization they demonstrated that modern-day secular culture can be built upon tradition and can still preserve its Orthodox features.

Illustration_2.jpg

Alexandros Papadiamantis (1851 – 1911)

A major prose writer of his time. His works enjoy deserved recognition in his homeland and have been translated into many European languages, including Russian.

Papadiamantis was born on the island of Skiathos to the family of a priest. He joined the faculty of philology at the University of Athens, but financial difficulties obliged him to interrupt his studies and earn money to maintain himself. This is how his first short stories, articles and translations appeared.

Papadiamantis was a man of a kind and modest disposition. Finding himself in the alien atmosphere of the capital, the writer experienced an acute moral and psychological crisis. He found a resolution to it in the Orthodox faith. The writer led an ascetic way of life as a ‘monk in the world’ by withdrawing into prayer and reflection.

Papadiamantis wrote verses and liturgical texts but was renowned most of all for his short stories. He possessed the unique gift of seeing within each individual instance the global meaning of what was taking place.

The two hundred and more stories written by Papadiamantis form an encyclopedia of the mores and customs of those living on the island of Skiathos with its numerous churches and monasteries, they are a unique chronicle of the life of the peasants and fishermen from Greece’s other regions and the poor quarters of Athens. In them we find all of Greece with her beauty, joy and afflictions.

Like Dostoevsky (Papadiamantis’ favourite author), he displayed active love to each one of his heroes. Alexandros Papadiamantis appealed to all to be merciful towards the outcast and humiliated, and this appeal ran through most of his stories.

Illustration_3.jpg

Papadiamantis would conduct himself, as he would like to write, as a “poor, sodden, shaking dove”, and this was regarded by the godless world as demonstratively odd.

Papadiamantis takes compassion upon sinners and does not pass moral judgment upon people. This does not mean that the writer was an idealist – he clearly saw the problems of the society he lived in and reflected them in his works: “Here we see clearly how mammon is turned into a god. It would be a thousand times better if people had stuck to the idol worship of the ancients. Today the dominant religion is dirty and bestial materialism. Christianity is used only as a cover for it.”

Papadiamantis’ work is unique in the context not only of Greek, but also of world literature. His works capture not only the mores typical of the Greek provinces, its way of life and character, but also reflect the history of the country, popular traditions and the Orthodox faith. It is within all of this, Papadiamantis believes, that there is concealed the inexhaustible fount of the spiritual strength of the Greek nation.

Papadiamantis was the first of his generation who turned to Orthodoxy and the traditional popular culture for a source of inspiration. His example and experience have exerted a noticeable influence upon modern Greek society.

Illustration_4.jpg

Architect and artist Dimitris Pikionis

Born in 1887 in Piraeus, he studied civil construction in Greece and then continued his studies in Paris and Munich.

Returning to Greece, he became a professor at the Techinical University and set about realizing his architectural projects. He built new primary schools, summer theatres, houses and children’s playgrounds.

Anyone who has visited Athens at least once will have come across Pikionis’ work. One of his main works is the superbly executed pedestrian zones within the archeological area of the Athens acropolis.

Unlike most of his contemporaries, Pikionis believed that architect was a craft and not an art. He himself was not only an architect, but also a philosopher and a thinker who opened up for Greek art new aesthetic horizons.

Pikionis’ art was unique and innovative. He was inspired by Byzantine and ancient Greek art and the architectural schools of the peoples of the world. And yet at the same time he avoided imitation, finding his own individual style.

Illustration_5.jpgThe Orthodox faith became for Pikionis the most important source of inspiration. In spite of the fact that his family and work took away much of his time, he devoted all of his free time to the service of God. The great architect would spend the nighttime studying the Philokalia, the writings of the Holy Fathers and in prayer. 

“Pikionis was the new St. John Climacus, a humble recluse and thinker who embodied his spiritual insights in architectural forms,” one contemporary writer wrote of him.

Illustration_6.jpg

Ethnographer and publisher Photis Kondoglou

Photis Kondoglou (1897 – 1965) was a unique figure, who brought others in various layers of Greek society to respect the Orthodox tradition, was a writer, iconographer, ethnographer and publisher.

He heralded from Asia Minor and lived and studied in Europe for five years where he became renowned for his unique talent as a painter and published his first literary works. In 1922 Kondoglou returned to Greece and was based in Athens. Photis was struck by peoples’ the total infatuation with the West and the absence of spiritual searching among the capital’s intelligentsia. He went against the desperate searches of his colleagues by expounding a Christian world outlook. The protection, preservation and spreading of Orthodox and popular culture became the meaning of his life. Kondoglou is not merely an artist and writer, but also a polemicist, advocate and missionary.

Illustration_7.jpg

In his painting Kondoglou – one of the most outstanding iconographers in modern times – was an adherent of the Byzantine tradition. He not only reintroduced it to Orthodox church buildings, but also used the technique to produce works which would appear to be remote from this genre such as portraits, landscapes and still lifes. To Kondoglou’s brush there belong frescoes, mosaics and icons in many of Greece’s Orthodox churches. He worked as a restorer in the Athens Museum of Byzantine Art, the monasteries of Mount Athos and the Coptic Museum in Cairo.

The artist’s work was not imitative, but was a reimagining of the Byzantine legacy. A little earlier than Kondoglou other artists aiming to reproduce Byzantine models had begun to work in this style, which made their works look like museum exhibits. Unlike them, Kondoglou imbued Orthodox art with vitality and made it contemporary.

Illustration_8.jpg

Kondoglou is no less well known as a writer. He used popular language, enriching it with elements of local dialects. The writer’s works are distinguished by a lofty artistry and profound knowledge of life. Kondoglou was an ardent proponent of studying popular customs and spirituality and actively encouraged the development of ethnographic research. Photis, moreover, reintroduced his fellow countrymen to the literature of the Lives of the saints and revived the Byzantine art of adornment through manuscript miniatures.

Kondoglou played a significant role as a populiser of the Byzantine legacy. From 1950 onwards he published in the newspapers his stories on Orthodox traditions and feast days. In addition, he published the monthly almanac The Ark, calling upon his readers to fight for Orthodox values. Photis Kondoglou’s varied activities served as a catalyst for the return of Greek society to the Orthodox tradition in all its aspects. It is thanks to Kondoglou that traditional Orthodox iconography returned home to the churches and that Byzantine chant edged out Western part song.

Kondoglou raised a great number of disciples who continued his cause: the museum specialist Symon Karas, who aroused in his contemporaries interest in the Byzantine musical ecclesiastical and secular tradition; Angelika Khadzimikhali, who began the first serious study of Greek popular applied art; Anastasios Orlandos and Aristotelis Zakhos, who worked upon the revival of Byzantine architecture; the iconographers and painters S. Papaloukas, S. Vasilliou, R. Kopsidis, P. Vambulis, Ya. Terzis, D. Ksinopulos and N. Eggonopulos, who continued the cause of rehabilitating Byzantine art and its reintroduction to Orthodox church buildings.

Illustration_9.jpg

Certain aspects of the history of the Christian Church remain insufficiently studied to this day. In particular, we know far less of the spiritual lives of the simple laity than we do of the priests and monastics. The current epoch has allowed us to widen considerably the possibilities of gathering and retaining information. It has become evident that laymen and laywomen have often played an important role in the preservation of Orthodox culture and its transmission to subsequent generations. 

Illustration_10.jpg

Our article has examined some of these episodes. It is important to emphasize that the participation of the intelligentsia in the defence of Orthodoxy was not a uniquely Greek phenomenon. It is sufficient to recall the religious awakening in the Russian empire at the turn of the twentieth century. A small monastery – the Optina hermitage – attracted the best intellectual forces of Russian society. Similar episodes are to be found in the history of all Orthodox nations. At a time of crisis, it was the representatives of culture who found within themselves the strength to look at the surrounding reality not from the point of view of gain, but from the perspective of eternity and eternal values. It is quite possible that in our time we shall see a similar religious awakening. Perhaps it is being born before our very eyes…

Поделиться:
His Holiness Patriarch Kirill meets Serbian minister of foreign affairs

16.04.2021

Holy Synod members commemorate Patriarch Irinej of Serbia and late archpastors of Russian Church

13.04.2021

Address delivered by His Holiness Patriarch Kirill at the session of the Holy Synod on 13th April 2021

13.04.2021

His Holiness Patriarch Kirill chairs Holy Synod’s first session in 2021

13.04.2021

Condolences of His Holiness Patriarch Kirill on the passing of Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh.

10.04.2021

His Holiness Patriarch Kirill’s condolences over the terrorist attack in Makassar

29.03.2021

Patriarchal condolences over the train crash in the Egyptian province of Sohag

27.03.2021

His Holiness Patriarch Kirill chairs online session of the Supreme Church Council

26.03.2021

Patriarch Kirill congratulates the president of Greece on the occasion of the 200 th anniversary of the struggle for the liberation of the Greek nation

25.03.2021

Patriarchal greeting to His Beatitude Mar Béchara Boutros Cardinal Raï with the 10th anniversary of enthronement

25.03.2021

Patriarchal congratulations to Archbishop Seraphim of Sendai on his 70th birthday

23.03.2021

Patriarchal сondolences over the killing of believers of the Ethiopian Church in the Oromia Region

13.03.2021

Patriarch Kirill congratulates Metropolitan Porfirije on his election to the Serbian Patriarchal See

18.02.2021

Patriarch Kirill presented with Serbian highest national award

15.02.2021

Supreme Church Council holds first online session

11.02.2021

Metropolitan Hilarion: We carry on dialogue with other confessions in order to explain our position to them

18.04.2021

Metropolitan Hilarion: Law discriminating canonical Church has not been reversed in Ukraine

17.04.2021

Metropolitan Hilarion: Patriarch Bartholomew does not want to admit his fault in the Ukrainian problem

17.04.2021

Holy Synod members commemorate Patriarch Irinej of Serbia and late archpastors of Russian Church

13.04.2021

His Holiness Patriarch Kirill chairs Holy Synod’s first session in 2021

13.04.2021

DECR Сhairman sent condolences on the death of Cardinal Edward Cassidy

12.04.2021

Metropolitan Hilarion: actions of a politician must not come into conflict with his religious convictions

11.04.2021

Metropolitan Hilarion: Philip, Duke of Edinburgh, has kept his love for Orthodoxy for the rest of his life

09.04.2021

First meeting held in 2021 by Presidential Council for International Cooperation’s commission for interaction with religious associations

09.04.2021

Metropolitan Hilarion: Summit of the heads of Churches is possible in foreseeable future

06.04.2021

Metropolitan Hilarion: The issue of a change of calendar and Paschalia is not on the Russian Church’s agenda

03.04.2021

Metropolitan Hilarion: There exist within the Church differing opinions regarding the permissibility of IVF

03.04.2021

Metropolitan Hilarion: We can know God through Divine energies

28.03.2021

Metropolitan Hilarion: the Church does not bless the same-sex cohabitation, for it is a sinful way of life

27.03.2021

His Holiness Patriarch Kirill chairs online session of the Supreme Church Council

26.03.2021

Metropolitan Hilarion: God does not want to condemn, but to save us

07.03.2021

Metropolitan Hilarion: The Lord always grants to us the opportunity to display our talents

24.01.2021

Metropolitan Hilarion: The Lord has imbued the waters of Jordan with his divine presence to wash away human sins

19.01.2021

Metropolitan Hilarion: to repent means to change your way of life

17.01.2021

On commemoration day of St. Catherine, Metropolitan Hilarion of Volokolamsk officiated at the Church of St. Catherine the Great Martyr In-the-Fields  the representation of the Orthodox Church in America

07.12.2020

Metropolitan Hilarion: We can always show compassion for people

29.11.2020

Metropolitan Hilarion celebrates on commemoration day of St. Varlaam of Khutyn at the church of ‘Joy to All the Afflicted’ icon of the Mother of God

19.11.2020

Metropolitan Hilarion: We should remember that the life of each human being is in the hands of God

06.11.2020

Metropolitan Hilarion: For God there is nothing impossible

25.10.2020

Metropoplitan Hilarion: The cross which was an instrument of dishonourable execution becomes the symbol of salvation for millions of people

27.09.2020

Metropolitan Hilarion: Eucharist is the wedding feast, to which Lord Jesus Christ invites each of us

13.09.2020

Metropolitan Hilarion: Faith alone is not enough for salvation

30.08.2020

Metropolitan Hilarion: God is willing to give everyone a wonderful gift of faith, but people must be willing to accept it

16.08.2020

Metropolitan Hilarion: We should be mindful of the value of human life

02.08.2020

Metropolitan Hilarion of Volokolamsk celebrates liturgy at Church of Antioch’s Moscow Representation on its patron saint’s day

26.07.2020

Feedback

Fields marked by * are mandatory required

Send a message

Обрести Бога

1.jpeg

Афанасий Зоитакис, кандидат исторических наук

XIX век ознаменовал отход значительной части греков от Православия. Зачарованные сиянием культуры «цивилизованной Европы», греческие интеллигенты открыли страну иноземным влияниям. С Запада пришли материализм, теософия, марксизм, рационализм, скептицизм и нигилизм. В городах Греции возникла мода на все иностранное, а «культурное» становилось синонимом «технологичного» и «западного».

Во второй половине XIX столетия греческие города переживают глубокий нравственный кризис. С одной стороны, были бедные труженики и нищие, с другой – знать и богачи, имевшие множество слуг и ведущие аристократический образ жизни. Вошли в моду заморские привычки и одежда, расточительные приемы и праздная жизнь. Высшие слои общества с явным пренебрежением отзывались о консервативном Православии и насмехались над народной религиозностью. 

Иерархия Элладской Церкви, оказавшаяся под контролем государства, практически безмолвствовала. Монастыри с трудом оправлялись после антимонашеской кампании властей. Приходские священники были погружены во множество материальных проблем и не всегда находили время, чтобы позаботиться о своей пастве.

В этих условиях на защиту Православия встали миряне. Множество интеллигентов нашли дорогу к Богу и повели за собой соотечественников. 

Сегодня мы поговорим о трех выдающихся представителях греческого искусства: писателе, архитекторе и художнике. В условиях дехристианизации они показали, что современная светская культура может зиждиться на традиции и сохранять православные черты.


5.jpeg
Александрос Пападьямандис (1851-1911) 

Крупнейший греческий прозаик нового времени. Его сочинения пользуются заслуженным признанием на родине и переведены на многие европейские языки (в том числе русский).

Пападьямандис родился на острове Скиафос в семье священника. Он поступил на филологический факультет Афинского университета, но финансовые трудности заставили его прервать учебу и самостоятельно зарабатывать на жизнь. Так появились его первые рассказы, статьи и переводы.

Пападьямандис был добрым и скромным человеком. Попав в чуждую ему атмосферу столичной жизни, писатель пережил острый нравственно-психологический кризис. Выход из него он нашел в православной вере. Писатель вел аскетическую жизнь «монаха в миру», уединившись в молитве и своих размышлениях. 

Пападьямандис писал стихи и богослужебные тексты, но известным его сделали короткие рассказы. Он обладал уникальным даром в каждом частном случае видеть глобальный смысл происходящего. 

Более двухсот рассказов, написанных Пападьямандисом, – это энциклопедия нравов и обычаев тех, кто населял остров Скиафос с его многочисленными церквями и монастырями, это своеобразная летопись жизни крестьян и рыбаков других районов Греции, бедных кварталов Афин. В них вся Эллада с ее красотой, радостью и печалями. 

Подобно Достоевскому (любимый писатель Пападьямандиса), он явил собой действенную любовь к каждому своему герою. Призыв Александроса – быть милосердным к униженным и оскорбленным – сквозная тема большинства его рассказов.

4.jpeg

Поведение Пападьямандиса, похожего, как он сам любил писать, на «бедного, намокшего, продрогшего голубя», было подчеркнуто аномально с точки зрения безбожного мира. Он раздает свои гонорары нищим и едва сводит концы с концами. Может отказаться от части своего вознаграждения со словами: «Нет, я столько не заслужил». В отличие от очарованных Западом греческих интеллигентов, Пападьямандис обращается к простому народу и народной традиции, презираемой рафинированными интеллектуалами. 

Пападьямандис сострадает грешникам, а не вершит нравственный суд над людьми. Это не значит, что писатель был идеалистом – он ясно видел проблемы современного ему общества и умел отразить их в своих произведениях: «Здесь явно обожествляется мамона. В тысячу раз лучше было бы, если бы здесь сохранилось древнее идолопоклонство. Сейчас же господствующей религией является грязный и животный материализм. Христианство используется только для прикрытия».

Творчество Пападьямандиса самобытно в контексте не только греческой, но и мировой литературы. В его произведениях не только запечатлены типичные для греческой провинции нравы, быт, характеры, но и нашли свое отражение история страны, народные традиции и православная вера. Во всем этом, по мнению Пападьямандиса, и кроется неисчерпаемый источник духовной силы греческого народа.

Пападьямандис первым из своего поколения обратился к Православию и к традиционной народной культуре как источнику вдохновения. Его пример и опыт оказали заметное влияние на новогреческое общество.

6.jpeg
Архитектор и художник Димитрис Пикионис 

Родился в 1887 году в Пирее. Изучив гражданское строительство на родине, он продолжил обучение в Париже и Мюнхене.

Вернувшись в Грецию, он стал профессором Технического университета и начал активно воплощать свои архитектурные проекты в жизнь. Строил начальные школы, летние театры, дома и детские площадки.

Все, кто хоть раз бывали в Афинах, сталкивались с работой Пикиониса: шедевральный план пешеходных зон в районе археологического участка Афинского акрополя – одна из главных работ мастера.

В отличие от большинства современников, Пикионис считал архитектуру не ремеслом, а искусством. Он и сам был не только архитектором, но философом и мыслителем, открывшим для греческого искусства новые эстетические горизонты.

Искусство Пикиониса было самобытным и новаторским. Он вдохновлялся византийским и древнегреческим искусством, архитектурными школами народов мира. Но при этом избегал подражания, найдя собственный уникальный стиль.

7.jpeg

Православие стало для Пикиониса главным источником вдохновения. Несмотря на то что семья и работа отнимали много времени, он посвящал Богу все свободное время. Ночи великий архитектор проводил в изучении «Добротолюбия», писаний святых отцов и молитве. «Пикионис был новым Иоанном Лествичником, смиренным отшельником и мыслителем, воплощавшим свои духовные прозрения в архитектурные формы», – писал о нем один из современников.

3.jpeg
Этнограф и издатель Фотис Кондоглу 

Уникальной фигурой, вернувшей уважение к православной традиции в различных слоях греческого общества, был литератор, иконописец, этнограф и издатель Фотис Ко́ндоглу (1897-1965). 

Он был родом из Малой Азии, пять лет жил и учился в Европе, где прославился за свой уникальный талант живописца и опубликовал свои первые литературные труды. В 1922 году Кондоглу вернулся в Грецию и обосновался в Афинах. Повальное увлечение Западом и отсутствие духовных интересов в среде столичной интеллигенции поразили Фотиса. Надрывным исканиям коллег он противопоставил христианское мировоззрение. Защита, сохранение и распространение православной и народной традиции становятся смыслом его жизни. Кондоглу не просто художник и литератор, но и полемист, борец и миссионер. 

8.jpeg

В живописи Кондоглу – один из наиболее выдающихся иконописцев нового времени – был приверженцем византийской традиции. Он не только вернул ее в православные храмы, но и решал в этой технике произведения, казалось бы, далеких от нее жанров – портрета, пейзажа, натюрморта. Кисти Кондоглу принадлежат фрески, мозаики и иконы многих православных храмов Греции. Он работал реставратором в Афинском музее византийского искусства, монастырях Афона, Коптском музее в Каире.

Творчество мастера не было подражательным, а представляло собой переосмысление византийского наследия. Чуть раньше Кондоглу в этом же стиле начали работать другие художники, стремившиеся к воспроизведению византийских образцов, что придавало их творениям вид музейных экспонатов. В отличие от них Кондоглу сделал православное искусство живым и современным. 

Не менее известен Кондоглу и как литератор. Он использовал народный язык, обогащая его элементами местных диалектов. Произведения писателя отличала высокая художественность и глубокое знание жизни. Кондоглу был пламенным сторонником изучения народных обычаев и духовности и способствовал активизации этнографических исследований. Кроме того Фотис вернул интерес соотечественников к житийной литературе и возродил византийское искусство украшения рукописей миниатюрами.

9.jpeg

Значительна роль Кондоглу как популяризатора византийского наследия. С 1950 года он помещал в газетах свои рассказы о православных традициях и праздниках. Кроме того выпускал ежемесячный альманах «Ковчег», призывающий к борьбе за православные ценности. Разнообразная деятельность Фотиса Кондоглу послужила катализатором обращения греческого общества к православной традиции во всех ее формах. В храмы благодаря Кондоглу вернулась традиционная православная и́конопись, а византийское пение вытеснило западный парте́с.

Кондоглу удалось воспитать значительное число учеников, которые продолжили начатое им дело: музыковед С. Каррас, пробудивший у современников интерес к изучению византийской музыкальной церковной и светской традиции; А. Хадзимихали, начавшая первые серьезные исследования греческого народно-прикладного искусства; А. Орландос и А. Захос, занимавшиеся возрождением византийской архитектуры; иконописцы и живописцы С. Папалукас, С. Василиу, Р. Копсидис, П. Вамбулис, Я. Терзис, Д. Ксинопулос, Н. Эггонопулос, продолжившие дело реабилитации византийского искусства и возвращения его в православные храмы. 

2.jpeg

Некоторые аспекты истории Христианской Церкви до сих пор изучены недостаточно. В частности, гораздо меньше по сравнению с духовенством и монашеством мы знаем о духовной жизни простых мирян. Современная эпоха значительно расширила возможности хранить и собирать информацию. Стало очевидно, что именно миряне часто играли важную роль в сохранении православной культуры и передаче ее последующим поколениям.

10.jpeg

О некоторых из таких эпизодов рассказывает наша статья. Важно подчеркнуть, что участие интеллигенции в защите православного предания не было уникальным греческим феноменом. Достаточно упомянуть религиозное пробуждение в Российской империи XIX-XX столетия. Небольшой монастырь – Оптина пустынь – собрал вокруг себя лучшие интеллектуальные силы русского общества. Подобные эпизоды были в истории всех православных народов. Во времена кризиса именно представители культуры находили в себе силы взглянуть на окружающую действительность не с точки зрения выгоды и сиюминутных интересов, а с точки зрения вечности и непреходящих идеалов. Не исключено, что и в наше время мы увидим такое религиозное пробуждение. Быть может оно уже зарождается на наших глазах…


Поделиться:
Святейший Патриарх Кирилл поздравил Предстоятелей Древних Восточных Церквей, празднующих Пасху по юлианскому календарю

03 мая в 17:30

В праздник Светлого Христова Воскресения Патриарх Кирилл совершил Пасхальную великую вечерню в Храме Христа Спасителя

02 мая в 19:50

Святейший Патриарх Кирилл поздравил с Пасхой руководителей стран православной традиции в дальнем зарубежье

02 мая в 12:01

Святейший Патриарх Кирилл поздравил Предстоятелей Поместных Православных Церквей с праздником Пасхи

02 мая в 07:01

Пасхальное послание Святейшего Патриарха Кирилла опубликовано на 25 языках

01 мая в 16:52

Соболезнование Святейшего Патриарха Кирилла в связи с трагедией на горе Мерон в Израиле

01 мая в 15:30

Пасхальное послание Святейшего Патриарха Кирилла архипастырям, пастырям, диаконам, монашествующим и всем верным чадам Русской Православной Церкви

01 мая в 14:52

Состоялась встреча Святейшего Патриарха Кирилла с министром иностранных дел Сербии

16 апреля в 21:19

Маронитский Патриарх поблагодарил Предстоятеля Русской Церкви за участие в судьбе христиан Ближнего Востока

13 апреля в 22:21

Члены Синода почтили память Патриарха Сербского Иринея и почивших архипастырей Русской Церкви

13 апреля в 17:21

Журналы заседания Священного Синода от 13 апреля 2021 года

13 апреля в 17:09

Слово Святейшего Патриарха Кирилла на заседании Священного Синода 13 апреля 2021 года

13 апреля в 15:32

Святейший Патриарх Кирилл возглавил первое в 2021 году заседание Священного Синода

13 апреля в 12:15

Благодарственное письмо Предстоятелю Русской Православной Церкви от Патриарха Эфиопии Абуны Матфия

12 апреля в 18:21

Соболезнование Святейшего Патриарха Кирилла в связи с кончиной принца Филиппа, герцога Эдинбургского

10 апреля в 07:52

Митрополит Иларион: у многих людей утрачено представление о том, что война – это зло

09 мая в 00:00

Митрополит Иларион: Пасха – возможность снова встретиться с Воскресшим Христом

05 мая в 00:00

Председатель ОВЦС направил Пасхальные поздравления главам Древних Восточных Церквей, встречающих Воскресение Христово по старому стилю

03 мая в 17:29

В праздник Светлого Христова Воскресения Патриарх Кирилл совершил Пасхальную великую вечерню в Храме Христа Спасителя

02 мая в 19:50

В Пасхальную ночь митрополит Волоколамский Иларион совершил торжественное богослужение

02 мая в 16:58

Председатель ОВЦС направил Пасхальные поздравления зарубежным государственным деятелям

02 мая в 12:00

Председатель ОВЦС направил Предстоятелям Поместных Православных Церквей поздравления с Воскресением Христовым

02 мая в 07:00

В Великую субботу митрополит Волоколамский Иларион совершил Литургию святителя Василия Великого

01 мая в 20:38

Митрополит Волоколамский Иларион совершил утреню с чином погребения Господа нашего Иисуса Христа

30 апреля в 23:33

Митрополит Иларион совершил вечерню Великого Пятка с выносом святой Плащаницы

30 апреля в 18:20

Вручена Патриаршая награда за гуманитарные проекты в Сирии

30 апреля в 12:04

Митрополит Иларион: Будем помнить о том, что Господь Иисус Христос пострадал за каждого из нас

29 апреля в 22:38

Митрополит Иларион: Господь призывает всех нас быть причастниками Его Божественного Тела и Его Честной Крови

29 апреля в 17:55

Митрополит Иларион: в России становится все больше диссертаций по теологии

29 апреля в 11:12

Митрополит Волоколамский Иларион выступил на кафедре теологии МИФИ с открытой лекцией на тему «Христианство: как зародилось, во что превратилось»

28 апреля в 17:00

Митрополит Иларион: Будем в любых обстоятельствах жизни сохранять верность Господу Иисусу Христу

19 марта в 15:56

Митрополит Иларион: Бог желает не осудить, а спасти нас

07 марта в 22:34

Митрополит Иларион: Встреча с Богом – главная цель в жизни человека

15 февраля в 20:00

Митрополит Иларион: Евангельская история о Закхее учит нас, как реагировать на присутствие Бога в нашей жизни

14 февраля в 19:34

Митрополит Иларион: Достоевский через все свое творчество проповедовал евангельский идеал – Христа

09 февраля в 19:02

Церковь прославляет всех мучеников и исповедников за имя Христово

07 февраля в 21:20

Митрополит Иларион: Без наших собственных усилий Бог не сможет нас спасти

31 января в 20:26

Митрополит Иларион: Господь всегда нам дает возможность проявить свои способности

24 января в 21:20

Митрополит Иларион: Господь насытил воды Иордана Своим Божественным присутствием, чтобы в них омывались грехи человеческие

19 января в 20:53

В Крещенский сочельник митрополит Иларион совершил Божественную литургию в храме в честь иконы Божией Матери «Всех скорбящих Радость» на Ордынке

18 января в 19:17

Митрополит Иларион: Покаяться – значит изменить образ жизни

17 января в 20:05

В день своей архиерейской хиротонии митрополит Иларион совершил Божественную литургию в храме в честь мучеников и исповедников Михаила и Феодора Черниговских

14 января в 19:49

Митрополит Иларион: Бог прокладывает путь к сердцу человека, преодолевая его неверие и сомнение

10 января в 19:54

В праздник Рождества Христова митрополит Иларион совершил ночное богослужение

07 января в 19:41

Митрополит Иларион: Каждому человеку открыт путь ко Христу

06 января в 21:40

Обратная связь

Поля отмеченные * обязательны для заполнения

Отправить обращение