Print This Post

On 28 November 2017, in the meeting hall of the Holy Synod at the Patriarchal and Synodal Residence in St. Daniel’s Monastery in Moscow, the Holy Synod of the Russian Orthodox Church held its session under the chairmanship of His Holiness Patriarch Kirill of Moscow and All Russia.

The meeting is taking place on the eve of the Bishops’ Council of the Russian Orthodox Church and of the celebrations marking the centenary of restoration of the Patriarchate and the enthronement of Patriarch Tikhon.

Prior to the session, His Holiness greeted the members of the Holy Synod and outlined the agenda, saying in particular:

“Today’s meeting is taking place on the eve of the Bishops’ Council. Therefore most items on its agenda pertain to the preparation for the Council. I will present to you all the documents that have been prepared, and we will have to take a decision, so that the Council may begin its work tomorrow.”

The list of permanent members of the Holy Synod includes Metropolitan Onufry of Kiev and All Ukraine; Metropolitan Juvenaly of Krutitsy and Kolomna; Metropolitan Vladimir of Kishinev and All Moldova; Metropolitan Alexander of Astana and Kazakhstan, head of the metropolitan area in the Republic of Kazakhstan; Metropolitan Vikenty of Tashkent and Uzbekistan, head of the metropolitan area of Central Asia; Metropolitan Varsonofy of St. Petersburg and Ladoga, chancellor of the Moscow Patriarchate; Metropolitan Pavel of Minsk and Zaslavl, Patriarchal Exarch of All Belarus; and Metropolitan Hilarion of Volokolamsk, chairman of the Moscow Patriarchate’s Department for External Church Relations.

Invited to take part in the winter session (September-February) were Metropolitan Ioasaf of Kirovograd and Novomirgorod; Bishop Serafim of Bobruisk and Bykhov; Bishop Feofan of Kyzyl and Tyva; Bishop Feognost of Novorossiysk and Gelendzik; and Bishop Mitrofan of Severomorsk and Umba.

Patriarchal Press Service/

DECR Communication Service