

Holy Synod of the Russian Orthodox Church completes its first winter session

The Holy Synod of the Russian Orthodox Church completed its first winter session on 6 October 2011. In compliance with the Synod's instruction of 27 July 2011, the Inter-Council Presence's Commission on Church Governance and Mechanisms for Implementing Conciliarity in the Church has elaborated proposals of coordinating activity of the dioceses in one and the same region. Members of the Holy Synod considered and approved draft provisions on metropolias of the Russian Orthodox Church presented by the Commission.

On the ground of the adopted document, metropolias of Mordovia, Primorje, Sverdlovsk, Rostov, Orenburg, Ryazan, Saratov, and Irkutsk regions, and of the Khabarovsk and Krasnoyarsk Territories were established. The Holy Synod appointed heads of these metropolias.

Source: https://mospat.ru/en/news/55135/