

Synodal Liturgical Commission meets in new composition at Holy Trinity and St Sergius Laura

On 4 February 2015, the Synodal Liturgical Commission held the first meeting in its new composition under the chairmanship of Archbishop Konstantin of Kurgan and Shadrinsk, Prof., at the Laura of the Holy Trinity and St Sergius.

On 25 December 2014, the Holy Synod of the Russian Orthodox Church approved the following composition of the Synodal Liturgical Commission: Archbishop Konstantin of Kurgan and Shadrinsk, chairman of the Commission; Bishop Kliment of Irpen, chairman of the Calendar Commission of the Ukrainian Orthodox Church; Archimandrite Makary (Veretennikov), Doctor of Church History; Hegumen Andronik (Trubachev), associate professor of the Moscow Theological Academy, secretary of the Commission; archpriest Sergy Pravdolyubov, Doctor of Divinity; archpriest Nikolai Balashov, vicechairman of the Moscow Patriarchate's Department for External Church Relations, Doctor of Divinity; archpriest Pavel Khondzinsky, head of the Practical Theology Department of St Tikhon's Orthodox University; Hegumen Ioann (Samoylov), professor of the Moscow Theological Academy, chairman of the Liturgical Commission of the Moscow diocese; Hegumen Petr (Yeryshalov), father superior of the Monastery of St Hypatius in Kostroma; archpriest Feodor Guryak, professor of the St. Petersburg Theological Academy; archpriest Georgy Sokolov, associate professor of the Minsk Theological Academy; Rev. Mikhail Zheltov, head of the Chair of Church Practice Sciences of Ss Cyril and Methodius Theological Institute for Post-Graduate Studies, associate professor of the Moscow Theological Academy and Sretenskaya Theological Seminary; Rev. Konstantin Pavlyuchenko, professor of the Yekaterinburg Theological Seminary; deacon Vladimir Vasilik, associate professor of the St. Petersburg State University and Sretenskaya Theological Seminary; Mr. Alexei Pentkovsky, Prof., Moscow Theological Academy.

At the beginning of the meeting, the participants sang 'Memory Eternal' to Archbishop Alexy (Frolov), who had chaired the Commission in 1995-2013, and to Archimandrite Matfei (Mormyl).

The members of the Commission considered the activity plan for 2015, established a working group for compiling the Regulations on the Synodal Liturgical Commission, examined the comments made by the members of the Holy Synod on the service to St Luke of Crimea; considered the service to all the saint who shone forth in the land of St. Petersburg and Ladoga, and made amendments to the Commission's website concept.

Source: https://mospat.ru/en/news/50664/