

## Primate of the Russian Church chairs regular session of the Holy Synod

On 4 May 2017, at the Patriarchal and Synodal residence in St. Daniel's Monastery in Moscow, the Holy Synod of the Russian Orthodox Church began its regular session under the chairmanship of His Holiness Patriarch Kirill of Moscow and All Russia.

The Primate of the Russian Orthodox Church opened the meeting by greeting the members of the Holy Synod and presenting the agenda.

The list of permanent members of the Holy Synod includes Metropolitan Onufry of Kiev and All Ukraine; Metropolitan Juvenaly of Krutitsy and Kolomna; Metropolitan Vladimir of Kishinev and All Moldova; Metropolitan Alexander of Astana and Kazakhstan, head of the Metropolitan area in the Republic of Kazakhstan; Metropolitan Vikenty of Tashkent and Uzbekistan, head of the Metropolitan area of Central Asia; Metropolitan Varsonofy of St. Petersburg and Ladoga, chancellor of the Moscow Patriarchate; Metropolitan Pavel of Minsk and Zaslavsk, Patriarchal Exarch for All Belarus; and Metropolitan Hilarion of Volokolamsk, chairman of the Department for External Church Relations.

The following hierarchs were summoned for the summer (March-August) session: Metropolitan Pitirim of Nikolayev and Ochakov, Metropolitan Vladimir of Khabarovsk and Priamurye, Metropolitan Nikon of Astrakhan and Kamyzyak, Bishop Ioann of Caracas and South America, and Bishop Iakov of Naryan-Mar and Mezen.

Patriarchal Press Service/

DECR Communication Service

Source: https://mospat.ru/en/news/48532/